#### LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

#### 7 JUNE 2018

Present: Councillor Merry (Chairperson).

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Congreve, Driscoll, Lent, Lister and

**Graham Thomas** 

## 1 : APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

The Council at its Annual Meeting on 24 May 2018 approved the appointment of Councillor Sarah Merry as Chair of the Local Authority Governor Panel.

## 2 : MEMBERSHIP & TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Council at its Annual Meeting on 24 May 2018 approved the following:

## Membership:

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Wendy Congreve, Sean Driscoll, Sue Lent, Ashley Lister, Sarah Merry and Graham Thomas

## Terms of Reference:

- (a) To advice the Council on appointments and removal of Governors to those places allocated to the Local Authority;
- (b) To consider and make decisions relating to the recruitment, training and vetting of potential Governors and any other matters that may be referred to the Panel by Cabinet or the Constitution Committee; and
- (c) All Members of the Committee will be required to undertaken relevant training to enable them to properly discharge their duties.

### 3 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for this meeting.

## 4 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declaration of interest was received in accordance with the Members Code of Conduct:

Councillor	Item	Interest
Councillor Driscoll	Item 8a – Nominations to existing Local Authority Governor vacancies	Personal and Prejudicial interest as an applicant for Local Authority Governor at Danescourt Primary School.

Councillor	Item	Interest
Alan Evans	Item 8b –	Personal interest as one of the
	Nominations to	applicants is Chair of Governors.
	future Local	
	Authority Governor	
	vacancies –	
	Eastern High	
	School	

#### 5 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 12 March 2018 were approved by the Chairperson and signed as a correct record.

## 6 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governor Vacancies was received and noted.

#### 7 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED - That the public be excluded for the following item of business as it contained information not for publication by virtue of Paragraph 12 of Part 4 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

## 8 : NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNORS VACANCIES

(Councillor Driscoll declared a personal and prejudicial interest in accordance the Members' Code of Conduct in this item and left the meeting during consideration of his application. Alan Evans declared a personal interest but remained at the meeting)

The Committee received and considered applications to current and future vacancies and considered all applications against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

The Committee wished to put on record the improvement in the completeness of applications by Elected Members and thanked the officers for their work in raising awareness of the Panel's previous observations.

#### RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to

1. approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School	Ward	Start of vacancy	Appointment
Adamsdown Primary School	Adamsdown	18/04/2018	Cllr Owen Jones
Cantonian High School	Fairwater	06/03/2018	Jean Fudge

School	Ward	Start of vacancy	Appointment
Christ the King RC Primary School	Llanishen	01/04/2018	Vicki Woods
Danescourt Primary School	Llandaff	26/07/2017	Cllr Sean Driscoll
Lansdowne Primary School	Canton	19/09/2017	Michelle Townsend
Rumney Primary School	Rumney	03/02/2018	Stella Dunstone
St Patrick's RC Primary School	Grangetown	16/09/2016	Nasir Adam
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	09/09/2017	Geoff Morgan
Ysgol Gymraeg Melin Gruffydd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	04/10/2016	Eleri Allsobrook
Adamsdown Primary School	Adamsdown	18/04/2018	Cllr Owen Jones
Cantonian High School	Fairwater	06/03/2018	Jean Fudge
Christ the King RC Primary School	Llanishen	01/04/2018	Vicki Woods
Danescourt Primary School	Llandaff	26/07/2017	Cllr Sean Driscoll

2. Approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School	Ward	Start of vacancy	Appointment
Baden Powell Primary School	Splott	24/10/2018	Gill Dallow
Cantonian High School	Fairwater	26/09/2018	Alvyn Morgan
Corpus Christi R.C High School	Lisvane	17/09/2018	Kath Brown
Eastern High	Rumney	24/10/2018 24/10/2018	Barbara Cooke Chris Taylor
Llanedeyrn Primary School	Pentwyn	23/07/2018	Nicola Whitefield
Moorland Primary School	Splott	18/06/2018	Rachel Barnett
Pencaerau Primary School	Caerau	24/09/2018 24/09/2018	Pamela James John Skelton
Peter Lea Primary School	Fairwater	27/06/2018 24/10/2018	Patricia Thomas Matthew Cook
Radyr Comprehensive	Radyr & Morganstown	26/09/2018	John Wilson

School	Ward	Start of vacancy	Appointment
School			
Roath Park Primary School	Plasnewydd	24/07/2018	Cllr Peter Wong
Severn Primary School	Riverside	27/06/2018 26/09/2018	Christine Newman Gareth Jones
St Paul's C.W Primary School	Grangetown	03/07/2018	Gordon Bell
The Bishop Of Llandaff C.W High School	Llandaff	26/09/2018	Sarah Cullen
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Plasmawr	Fairwater	17/09/2018 17/09/2018	Ruth Parry Evan Morgan

# 9 : FUTURE MEETING DATES

RESOLVED – That the date of the next meeting was agreed as Monday 10 September 2018 at 5.00pm in Committee Room 2. The dates of future meetings would be confirmed with the Committee following the 21 June Council meeting.

#### 10 : ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Alan Evans, Chair of Cardiff Governors Association advised that this was his last meeting. He thanked the Cabinet Member, Panel Members and lead officers for putting in place a more robust process for appointing Local Authority Governors and the success the new process has brought to matching candidates and their skills and expertise to the requirements of Governing Bodies and schools.

The Chair Councillor Sarah Merry thanks Alan for his positive support of the Panel, and significant knowledge and expertise that he has provided to the Council and Governor Services over many years. On behalf of the Committee and the Council she wished him all the very best for his retirement.

The meeting terminated at 6.15 pm